Sungai Lembing (Lembing River) was a forgotten but historic mining town with some of the deepest tin mining tunnels in Malaysia. It was established by British company Pahang Consolidated Company Limited in the 1900s to house the tin mining activities which had begun in 1886.
The tin mining community came together to set up essential infrastructure and buildings such as roads, electricity, bungalow houses, schools, office building, warehouse, shops, cinema, petrol station and a hospital.
After a few decades, tin mining activity went into decline due to falling global demand and tin prices plummeted. The Sungai Lembing tin mining company official closed down in 1987.
Many of the mine workers and residents have moved out, resulting in the closure of shops and petrol stations in the town.
HOW TO GET THERE
From Kuala Lumpur, use the East Coast Highway towards Kuantan which takes around three leisurely drive.
Exit at Kuantan Toll Plaza, turn right at the first traffic lights and follow the directions on the signboard. Sungai Lembing is a further 30 minutes drive away.